THE HISTORY of the early settlement and subsequent progress and development of the township and city of Sullivan presents many features that are interesting. A retrospection of thirty-five years would carry us back to the time when the city was fir st laid out, and a few years prior to that date would take us beyond the time when the first white settler had trodden upon its site; to the time when it constituted part of a dreary wilderness, before civilization had penetrated its solitary bosom, or th e voice of the pioneer echoed amid its timbered shade. The pioneers were a hardy race. That it was successful, was owing to the dauntless and persevering energy of the first settlers; for it was no enviable task to clear the forest, break the prairie, an d undergo the hardships incident to genuine pioneer life.

This was the earliest township formed, and the largest in the county. It is situated in the central and southern portions; bounded north by Lovington, east by Jonathan creck, and east Nelson, south by Whitley and Shelby counties, and west by Shelby count y, and Marrowbone township. There are 41,588 acres of land, valued by the last assessment at $496,157; 7,360 acres of which is unimproved. The chief streams which water and drain the township are the Okaw and West Okaw rivers. Other streams are Whitley and Asa's creeks, which are tributaries of the Okaw. There is considerable timber along the margin of these streams, embracing among the varieties the different kinds of oaks, ash, sugar maple, walnut and hickory. The surface, for the most part, is a gently undulating prairie, except along the various water courses where it becomes more broken. The soil on the prairies is alluvium of the darkest and richest character, and the bluffs along the creeks are co mposed principally of gravel and fire-clay. There are two railroads passing through the township. The Peoria, Decatur, and Evansville enters on sections 30, 14-5, and runs in a south-eastern direction, leaving it on sections 12, 13-5, and the Chicago Division of the Wabash, St. Louis and Pacific, enters at the north of section 14, running south and south- easterly, through its entire length, and passes out on sections 36, 13-5. The two form a junction in the western part of the city of Sullivan, and they afford to the agriculturist and manufacturer a market for their products and wares.


The first gettlements made in what is now Sullivan township, were in the northern part, or what is termed congressional town 14, Range 5. James Welborn, son of John Welborn, settled on the N. E. 1/4 of the N. E. 1/4 of section 17, as early as the spring o f 1829; where he erected the first cabin, and made the first improvements. In the fall of the same year, John C. Thomason purchased this claim of Welborn, and with his family settled here. The next improvement was made on the same section by Richard Tho mason, in the spring of 1830. George Thomason, another brother, settled on section 20, where he built a cabin and cleared some land, which was entered out by Jeremiah Souther, in the spring of 1832, and one year later he came and took possession of the p lace, where he lived for a long time. In the southern part of 14-5, George Monroe, a native of Indiana settled on section 32, and built a cabin at the edge of the timber, in 1831. This was on the place now owned by Absalom Patterson. Benjamin Sims was al so an early settler here. Jones and Roland Hampton, Kentuckians, settled at an early date on section 29. The former, Jones Hampton, now lives at Hampton's station, from whence it received its name. Edward

Page 180

Minor, James Hudson, Jefferson Hudson, James M. De Jernett, T. O. Brown, R. W. Payne, Ezekiel Sharp, and a few others, arrived here before 1835. George Monroe built the first mill in 14-5, in section 32, in the year 1835, which he operated until he was f rozen to death a few years later. The earliest marriage here was that of Joseph Thomason to Lucy Ezell in the fall of 1831. The ceremony was performed by Esquire James Fruit. The Pea grave-yard was the first burying ground in this part of the township, and the first interment was that of a small child, a daughter of Zenas and Mary Prather, in the summer of 1830. There was no school in town 14-5, until 1837, when James Steele taught in a cabin used for that purpose, on Jeremiah Souther's place on secti on 20. Arnold Thomason, William Souther, and John Kellar, were early teachers. Elders Joseph and Solomon Hostetler, were the first preachers.

To Thomas Howe, a native of Indiana, belongs the honor of first settling in the southern part of the township or in town 13, Range 5. He came in the year 1829 or early in 1830, and located on the West Okaw, in Section 25, where he built a cabin and made t he first farm. He had several children, and many of their descendants are still living in the county. The next to settle was James Camfield, and his father-in-law, Avery Wood, in the same year.

Mr. Camfield was a native of Kentucky, where he grew to manbood and married. On coming to this county be settled on Section 10, at the edge of the timber known as "Mack's Point," since Camfield's Point. Uncle Johnny, as he was usually called, was an ind ustrious, genial and clever man. At his residence the first courts in this county were held, and at that time many of the foremost men in the state were recipients of his hospitality. He left this state a short time ago, but several of his descendants a re yet here. Avery Wood had a very large family, but of his sons, Joseph M. was the only one to leave any children, several of whom are residents of the county. Most of his daughters married and have children. Mr. Wood was a pious man and a good farmer, and died at his home about 1840.

Richard and Thomas Nazworthy, brothers, and natives of Tennessee, settled in Section 6, in 1831. The widow of Richard Nazworthy, and two of her sons--William and Richard--are all of these families living in the county. In the same year, John Smith and M ark Short came and located near the Nazworthy's. Samuel Wright, also a Kentuckian, came in 1831, and settled in Section 31, where he lived for a number of years, and subsequently moved to Sullivan, where he died in August, 1874. He was four times married, and raised a family of ten children, all of whom are residing in this vicinity. The next arrival was that of grandfather James Patterson, his sons David, Joshua and Jonathan, and Nancy Harbaugh with her family, viz. : John, Peter, David, Jacob, Nancy, Sarah and Elizabeth. They came here from Edgar county, this state, in the spring of 1832. Levi Patterson settled on Asa's Creek, in what is now the east part of the city of Sullivan in 1837, and his son William is residing on the old homestead. Hugh, also a son of grandfather James Patterson, was a Christian minister, and lived for a time in the country. The descendants of David and Levi are all of the Patterson family that are living here.

James and William Crouch settled on section 14, in 1832. Reuben B. Ewing, a Tennesseean, who became quite prominent in the early civil history of Moultrie, came here in 1835. One son, Charles M., and Louisa, the wife of William Elder, and Rebecca A., the wife of D. F. Bristow, are all of his offspring that are living in the county.

There is no doubt but that the name Jacob McCune, is as familiar to the citizens generally as that of any man who ever located in this part of the country. He was a native of New York, and a patriot in the war of 1812. Mr. McCune came into this vicinity in the fall of 1828, living a part of the time in Shelby county and partly in what is now Moultrie. While in this county be resided in what is now Sullivan township, where he died several years ago, and was interred in the Camfield burying-ground. Asa Spencer Rice, familiarly called "Dollarhide" Rice, was also an early settler in these parts, but lived farther south, in Shelby county. He and McCune were great hunters, and as the deer and wild turkey were plentiful in those days, the sharp ring of the rifle in the hands of these two daring pioneers might frequently have been heard in the prairie and timbered regions of this vicinity. I t was on one of these expeditions that they came to a halt, now within the limits of the city of Sullivan, and Rice remarked, "Of all the country I've seen this is my choice," and McCune in quick reply said, "This shall be called Asa's Point." This is the point of timber in the east part of Sullivan, and has always been known by that name, as also Asa's Creek that flows by it.

Among other early settlers may be mentioned Wesley Loving, James McClellan, Henry Miller, Coonrods', John and Abram Reedy, Daniel Hook, John Powell, James Vanhise, Wm. Ellis, James Baugher, James Meeks, the Womack's, Mr. Ham, Joseph Baker, G. W. Vaughan, the Morelands, Wm. B. Stricklan, H. Y. Duncan, William Liler, John Wegger, the Underwoods, Skidmores, George Baxter, and others. In writing the history of a county and its constituent townships, recapitulation in some degree is una voidable, as we must refer our readers to the general chapter of early settlements, civil and church histories, as they are frequently mentioned under those heads.

The first land entered in this township, as taken from the county records, was made by the following parties, March 11, 1830: William A. Fleming, entered the E. half of the N. E. quarter of section 31, T. 13, R. 5 E., 80 acres; May 15th, 1830, Thomas Howe entered the W. half of the N. E. quarter of section 25, T. 13, R. 4 E., 80 acres; same date, Joseph Cibeson entered 80 acres in same section. June 22d, 1830, James Camfield entered the W. half of the S. W. quarter of section I 0, T. 13, R. 5 E., 80 acre s; Oct. 14th, 1830, Richard Nazworthy entered the N. half of the N. W. quarter of section 7, same township and range, 79-39 acres; Oct. 19th, 1830, Wm. R. Dazey entered the W. half of the N. W. quarter of section 25, T. 13, R. 4 E., 80 acres; May 14th, 1 831, Jeremiah Souther entered the S. E. quarter of section 19, 160 acres, and 320 acres in section 20, both tracts in T. 14, R. 5 E.; May 28th, 1831, Robert H. Peebles entered the E. half of the N. E. quarter of section 17, T. 14, R. 5 E., containing 80 acres; June 22d , 1831, Avery Wood entered the W. half of the S E. quarter of section 10, T. 13, R. 5 E. of the 3d P. M. 80 acres.

The first marriages that we have any record of in this township were Sanford Green to Miss Mahala Powell, and Adolphus Waggoner to Miss Warnack. These were in 1833. John Powell, who was killed by the kicking of a horse, was the first death. The earlies t school taught was in 1832, in the Nazworthy settlement; the teacher was old grandfather James Patterson, who was at that time over sixty-five years of age; he taught in Thomas Nazworthy's log residence; a school-house built of logs, on the Woods' place on section 10, in the year 1833, was the first in the township. Elders Levi Fleming, John Starms, and Rev. Hugh Patterson, were among the early preachers, and held their meetings in the log-cabins and school-houses until the building of churches in the ci ty of Sullivan. James Patterson erected a small log blacksmith-shop at Asa's Point, and did the first smithing in the township.

In 1833, John Powell and Sanford Green constructed the first

Page 181

mill; it was propelled by the waters of Okaw river, and was situated on the east line of section 24; it had one set of stones and a sash-saw. The next mill was built at Patterson coal-shaft in section 29, by Reuben B. Ewing and Jacob McCune, in 1836.

The coal shaft above mentioned was sunk by Donty Patterson, in 1873. It is about 120 feet deep; the vein is 27 inches thick and of a very excellent quality. There has been considerable coal raised, but the mine is so far from the railroads, and the vein so shallow that it can not be worked in paying quantities. There is a tile and brick factory, a short distance from Sullivan, that is doing good work.

The improvements in Sullivan township are among the best in the county. The farmers are industrious, and enterprising, and pursue their vocation with that energy that crowns success. The following named are a few of the good farms; views of which may be seen in this work: G. W. Vaughan, W. A. Short, J. H. Vanhise, W. T. Nazworthy, Robert H. Sharp, James Kirkwood and Joseph T. Harris.

The school districts are numerous, and each have neat and well furnished school-houses, where school is taught the greater part of the year.

The following are the names of parties, who have represented Sullivan in the county board of supervisors: Jonathan Meeker, elected in 1867, re-elected in 1868, and served until 1871 ; J. B. Titus, elected in 1871 ; John A. Freeland, elected in 1872; A. Pa tterson in 1873, and served until 1876; Jonathan Meeker, re-elected in 1876 and re-elected up to 1878 ; S. W. Wright, elected in 1878, '79 and '80, and resigned in September; and G. W. Vaughan was appointed to fill the vacancy.

The first effort to build a town in this township was in 1840, when William Cantrell laid out 160 acres on the farm, now owned by David Harbaugh, on section 11, and named it Glasgow. Mr. Cantrell erected a small frame store building and one log-house. W hen Sullivan was laid out, these buildings were moved there, and Glasgow became "a thing of the past."


At a meeting of the county commissioners, R. B. Ewing, A. H. Kellar and Andrew Scott, held in March, 1845, at the residence of Dr. William Kellar, it was agreed that the capital of the county of Moultrie should be called Sullivan, thereby connecting the t wo names which bear historical relations to each other.*

* Fort Moultrie was a fortification constructed by Col. William Moultrie, (afterwards a major-general) on Sullivan's Island, at the mouth of Charleston harbor, where a victory was gained, June 28th, 1776, by the South Carolina troops under Col. Moultrie over a British fleet commanded by Sir Peter Parker. The city was named from this Island.

At the same time they selected the N. E. 1/4 of the S. E. 1/4 of section 2, T. 13, R. 5, as the site for the new county seat. These forty acres were purchased of Philo Hale, for the sum of $100, by Dr. William Kellar and other prominent citizens, and don ated by them to the county. This tract was immediately laid off into lots and blocks surveyed and platted by Parnell Hamilton, county surveyor, for which the commissioners ordered that $48 be paid him for his services. The first lots were disposed of at public auction March 7, 1845. Those around the court-house square brought from twenty to thirty dollars each.

The first house was erected by John Perryman. It was a small one story frame structure, about eighteen feet square, and was located on the corner of Harrison and Van Buren streets, on the now lot occupied by the Maple House. After the completion of this house, he moved his family into it, in May, 1845, and became the

first resident. Mr. Perryman was circuit clerk, and moved here to attend to his official duties. The next settler was John A. Freeland, then county clerk and recorder. Uncle Johnny, as he is familiarly called, moved a "second-hand log cabin," from Glas gow, and placed it on the southeast corner of block 17, into which he moved his family July 11, 1845. Joseph Thomason became the third resident. He erected a frame house on the south-east corner of block 5, and moved his family here in August of the same year. Owen Searny, R. T. Hampton, Thomas Randall and Andrew Scott erected dwellings and settled here late in the summer and fall of 18 45. Isaac Funderburk built a blacksmith shop on the corner of Washington and Water streets, and did the first smithing. Owen Searny, who was a blacksmith, also built a shop late in 1845.

The first business of any kind in the city was a saloon, kept by Joel Earp. The building in which it was conducted stood on the corner opposite the north-east corner of the court house square, now occupied by the brick building owned by Dr. T. Y. Lewis. Soon after the establishment of this business, W. W. Oglesby moved a small frame store-house from Glasgow on the lot opposite the south-east corner of the court-house square, where William Elder's brick house now stands. He brought from Decatur a remnant of William Cantrell's store -- general stock, such as is usu ally found in country stores, and opened it for sale. In the spring of 1846 Amos Prentice opened the second store, with a small stock of general goods, in an old building that had been moved on a lot just east of Oglesby's store. That summer W. W. Oglesby was succeeded by J. Wilson Ross, who moved the old building away and replaced it with a larger and better one, which he opened with a l arger and more complete stock. James Elder came from Nelson, and erected a two-story frame residence, with a store-room on the first floor. This was situated on the corner northwest of the courthouse square. He moved his family into the residence part of the building, and placed a stock of goods in the storeroom. Mr. Elder also kept permanent and transient guests. Late in the fall of 1845, Geo. W. Gwilliams built a small residence and tan-yard, and ran the tanning business for two or three years, an d then moved away. J. J. and W. L. Haydon erected a business house and residence about 1848. It is a frame building, and is now occupied by C L. Roane. James Elder built a store at an early date, which is on the same lot, and now forms a part of Brockwa y's store. Homer Gibbs, James W. Vaughan, Dr. Will. Kellar, and others that might be mentioned had we space, built early residences and business houses. The first hotel was erected by Beverly Taylor, on the Titus Opera House lot, in 1847. It was fram e, two stories high, containing several rooms, neatly furnished. The house was called after its proprietor--the Taylor House. About the same time, John Reese came here, from Shelbyville, and in connection with Jones Hampton, erected a carding machine, w hich they operated for several years. The first brick business house was erected in the summer and fall of 1860, and is now known as the centennial building.

It was in this city that the Hon. Richard J. Oglesby first hung out his shingle as an attorney-at-law. This was in the year 1845, and he officed with uncle Johnny Freeland. James D. Perryman, son of John and Ann Perryman, was the first child born in th e city, and John, a young son of the same parents, was the first death that occurred. Drs. William Kellar, L. S. Spore, William B. Duffield, J. Y. Hitt and B. B. Everett, were the early physicians. The post-office was established in 1845, and John Perrym an was appointed first post-master. The mails were received once in two weeks from Shelbyville, carried by Peter Fleming on horse-back. Those who

Page 182

have held the office since, are W. C. Loyd, J. E. Eden, James Elder, W. W. Stanley, and A. Miley, the present incumbent.

Churches.--The first church was erected by the Methodist denomination about 1847 or '48, and the building is now used by D. L. Pifer for a wagon shop. They have since built a new church. The Cumberland Presbyterian, and Christian Churches were bu ilt about the same time in 1853. They cost about $2,000 each, and are both about the same size, well furnished, neat and comfortable edifices.

Cemetery.--The Sullivan cemetery was originally the private burying-ground of James Elder, and the first person interred there was his daughter Rebecca, wife of Louis J. Berry, in March, 1847. The present grounds were donated for cemetery purposes by James Elder, Dr. William Kellar, and William Patterson. It contains about four acres, and is situated in the southeast part of the city.

Schools.--The first schoolhouse erected in the city was in the spring of 1846, on lot 2, block 11, at a cost of $85, made up by private subscription. It was a small frame building, 17 x 20 feet in size. John W. Wheat, an attorney who came from Ch ristian county, taught the first school in the summer of 1846. Schools were conducted in this house until the erection of the brick academy by James S. Freeland, in 1851. Mr. Freeland had organized a class for an academic course, and held his first sessi on in one of the rooms of the old court-house. This school flourished until the death of Mr. Freeland, which occurred in 1856, when it ceased to exist. Some years afterward the property was purchased by Elder N. S. Bastion, and had a successful season for about six years, when again its walls relapsed into silence. In the meantime a two-story brick [building] was erected in the eastern part of the town near the cemetery, through the individual efforts of the members of the Christian church. It was subsequently bought by the district, and used for so me years, or until the building of the new house, when it was sold and the proceeds placed in the public school treasury. It should be observed that prior to the erection of the new building, the old public school-house was insufficient for the pupils of the district, hence a portion of the scholars attend a department in the academy provided for by the district. The present building was commenced in 1873, and completed in the fall of 1874. It is three stories besides the basement, and is one hundred a nd sixty feet from foundation to belfry. It contains six rooms, furnished with the latest and best school furniture, and will accommodate 350 pupils. Its facilities for ventilation are excellent, and it is heated by hot air furnished by a furnace situat ed in the basement.

Incorporation.--Sullivan was first incorporated under the general law as a village, in the winter of 1850. The records were burned with the courthouse, and we were unable to collect all of the desired information. John A. Freeland, John Perryman and J. W. Ross were three of the first trustees elected. Charles White was the first constable. The last trustees were T. M. Bushfield, President; W. B. Kilner, Peter Cofer, Milton Tichenor, J. H. Waggoner and J. H. Shockey; E. Hall, clerk.

In the winter of 1872 the place was incorporated as a city, having a mayor and council. Those first elected were -- Victor Thompson, Mayor; James R. Duncan, S. Brightman, A. A. Frederick, W. Kirkwood, B. S. Jennings, William Thuneman, alderman; Edwin Hall , clerk; A. B. Lee, city attorney; C. L. Roane, treasurer; Washington Linder, city marshal, and T. M. Bushfield, street commissioner. Present officers are -- William Kirkwood, Mayor; J. H. Waggoner, W. P. Corbin, Dr. T. Y. Lewis, James R. Duncan, C. N. Sn yder, B. S. Jennings, alderman; S. M. Smyser, city attorney; E. Hall, clerk; Dock Patterson, city marshal; C. L. Roane, treasurer. From the beginning Sullivan has had a steady and healthy growth, and with present prospects of new enterprises it is destin ed to become a city of no mean pretensions, not far in the distant future. The blocks and streets are laid out square with the compass. The streets are wide, well shaded, and have good sidewalks. Situated in the centre of the original plat is the courth ouse and square, around which cluster the principal business houses of the city. Sullivan, located as it is in the heart of a rich and populous country, with good stores and excellent railroad facilities, commands the trade for many miles around. As a sh ipping point there are but few places of its size in central Illniois that surpass it.

Press.--The papers now published here are the Sullivan Progress and The Sullivan Journal, both examples of typographical neatness.

Sullivan Woolen Mill.--This factory was erected by Patterson, Jennings & Co. in the fall of 1867, and began operations the following year. It is a brick structure three stories high, with engine-room and dye-house attached. The machinery is what is technically known as a "one set mill"--40 inch cards--with spinning jack, looms, etc., and has the capacity of manufacturing into fabric 100 pounds of wool per day. It is now owned by Patterson & Jennings, and is under the personal supervision of B. S . Jennings.

Steam Flouring Mills.--The city boasts of two good flouring mills, one owned and operated by S. H. Morrell, the other by D. S. Lowe. The former is a frame structure, and was built by Garland & Patterson in 1852, and purchased by Mr. Morrell in the spring of 1859. It has two run of burrs, one for wheat and one for corn. The latter mill is a three-story brick, and was built by Patterson, Snyder & McClelland in 1866. It has three run of burrs, two wheat and one corn, and does considerable business in the way of foreign shipments.

Elevator.--This building is situated in the western part of the city, near the intersection of the railroads. It was built in 1873 under the auspices of the Sullivan Grain Co. It is a two-story frame building, with a capacity of storing 10,000 bushels of grain, and can shell and load five cars of corn per day. It is owned and operated by D. F. Bristow.

Plow Manufactory.--This was estabhshed by F. P. Hoke in 1877. It is run by steam and manufactures from three to four hundred plows a year.

Titus Opera House.--Was constructed by J. B. Titus in 1871, at a cost of upwards of $30,000, and is fashioned after Heley's, of Chicago, as it was before the fire. It has a parquet and gallery, nicely frescoed ceiling, a full set of scenery, side boxes, etc., The whole building is lighted with gas, and has all the conveniences usually found in cities. The house is far ahead of the town, and speaks in tones of unmistakable language of the public spirit of its author, J. B. Titus.

Maple House.--This is a neat, cozy, two-story frame building, owned and conducted by E. L. Shepherd.

Bank.--The first banking business done in Sullivan was by James Elder, in 1868, which he continued until his death, 1870. Other firms came into existence, but passed out of sight. The only banking house in town at this writing is the Merchants' and Farmers' Bank, conducted by Wm. Elder, son of James Elder.

Physicians.--T. Y. Lewis; A. L. Kellar; S. W. Lucas; A. W. Williams; E. L. Hardin; B. B. Everitt; B. H. Porter; J. A. Dunlap; A. T. Marshal; J. W. Cokenowner; A. W. Leffingwell.

Page 183


Carriage and Wagon Manufactories.--H. W. Bury; D. L. Pifer; J. M. Cummins.

Dry Goods, Clothing, etc.--T. P. Mathews & Co.; A. E. Antrim; C. L. Roane.

Dry Goods, Notions, etc.--Geo. Mayer; E C. Drew.

Clothing and Gents' Furnishing Goods.--M. Ansbacher.

Boots and Shoes.--A. Wyman; M. Layman; Carl Stanke; __________ Palmer.

Hardware, Stoves, and Agricultural Implentents.--J. W. Elder; Geo. P. Chapman.

Agricultural Implements, Organs, etc.--T. J. Hill.

Groceries, Queensware, etc.--Spitler & Son; Co-operative Store, J. H. Dunscomb, agent; M. McDonald; J. N. McClure; Bolin & Miller; B. W. Brockway.

Books and Stationery.--Lilly & Co.; A. Miley.

Furniture, Carpets, etc.--W. P. Corbin.

Drug Stores.--Welch & Livers; J. L. Reed & Co.

Jewelry.--H. J. Pike.

Bakery and Confectioneries.--Scott Bros.; R. M. Miller; L. Lee; J. Birchfield.

Merchant Tailor.--G. O. Andrews.

Blacksmith Shops.--Crow & Ham; Wm. Seaney; F. P. & W. Hoke; J. M. Cummins; H. W. Bury.

Millinery.--Mrs. M. A. Rickets.

Harness Stores.--James Dedman; Wm. Thunemann.

Dentists.--S. Trowbridge; J. C. Brooks.

Livery Stables.--P. B. Gillham; A. P. Robinson.

Insurance Agents.--Samuel E. Smyser; W. T. J. Rose; G. W. Pain.

Photograph Galleries.--A. S. Creech; R. T. Ring.

Stock Dealers and Shippers.--Bland & Thomason.

Abstractor of Titles.--J. H. Waggoner & Co.

Carpenters' Shops.--J. N. & G. M. Williams, Rogers & Williams, Taylor & Fletcher, L. T. Haggerman, Geo. Hoke, W. F. Bushman.

Marble Yards.--J. G. Baker, Tichenor & Leffingwell, F. Sona.

Florist.--W. F. Bushman.

Butcher Shops.--J. N. Jones, Douglas & Gunn, B. F. Sentel.

Sewing Machnie Agents.--E. J. Gillham, Stricklin & Hill, G. O. Andrews.

Churches.--Methodist Episcopal, Christian, Cumberland Presbyterian.

Grain Dealers.--T. M. Bushfield, E. Anderson, Kirkwood & Gilbert, G. W. Pain.

Barbers.--Riley Norton, George Robinson.

Eureka Paint Shop.--Kellar & Duncan.

Lumber Merchants.--M. McDonald, __________ Raymond.


* We are indebted to the secretaries of the various Lodges for information in reference to the same.

Sullivan Chapter, No. 128, R. A. M., was chartered October 9th, 1868, with the following membership: J. B. Titus, H. P.; W. B. Kilner, K.; J. H. Waggoner, James Earp, T. M. Bushfield, S. W. Wright, T. Y. Lewis, E. L. Shepherd, Lee Yarbrough, Benjam in Freeman, and H. H. Atchison. The present officers are, J. H. Waggoner, H. P.; J. H. Dunscomb, K.; S. W. Wright, S.; M. Tichenor, Secretary; M. Ansbacher, Treasurer; Peter Cofer, C. of H.; W. B. Townsend, P. S.; W. H. Shinn, R. A. C.; Geo. Mayer, M. 3d V.; T. M. Busbfield, M. 2d V.; F. E. Ashworth, M. Samuel Peters, T.

Templestowe Commandery, No. 46, Knights Templar, granted a dispensation November llth, 1874, and chartered October 26th, 1875, with the following officers: Geo. E. Millan, E. C.; W. B. Kilner, G.; J. R. Duncan, C. G.; D. F. Steards, P.; Jno. 11. Dunscomb, Treasurer; D. G. Lindsay, R.; S. W. Wright, S. W.; W. B. Townsend, J. W.; M. Tichenor, S. B.; E. L. Morrell, Sword B.; Peter Cofer, W.; J. W. Pearce, C. of G. Present officers, J. H. Dunscomb, E. C.; A. K. Campbell, G.; J. R. Duncan, C. G.; D. E . Stearns, P.; J. W. Pursell, S. W.; Peter Cofer, J. W.; S. W. Wright, Treasurer; J. K. Muncie, R; M. Tichenor, S. B.; A.M. Green, Sword B.: F. E. Ashworth, W.; Robt. Cunningham, C. of G. Full membership twenty one.

Moultrie Lodge, No. 158, 1. O. O. F., was organized August 23d, 1854. The first officers were -- J. R. Eden. N. G.; Wm. A. Clements, V. G.; D. D. Randolph, Secretary; J. B. Wright, Treasurer. The present officers are -- M. C. Pinckly, N. G.; J. A. Stricklin, V. G.; W. C. Gilbert, R Secretary; P. B. Gillham, P. S.; W. F. Bushman, Treasurer; R. P. McPheters, Rep. to Grand Lodge. The present membership 43.

Okaw Lodge, No. 623, K. of H., was organized May 16th, 1877, with twelve charter members. The first officers were--C. L. Roane, P. D.; J. H. Waggoner, D.; B. W. Brockway, V. D.; M. McDonald, A. D.; J. R. Dunscomb, C.; A. E. D. Scott, G.; S M. Smy ser, R.; W. W. Peckham, F. R.; W. C. Gilbert, Treasurer; D. F. Bristow, I. G. George Dawson, O. S. Present officers:--J. H Dunscomb, P. D ; J. C. Stanley, D.; W. W. Eden, V. D.; A. F. Robinson, A. D.; W. C. Gilbert, R. B.; W. Brockway, F. R.; D. F. Bristow, T.; Geo. P. Chapman, Guide; J. H. Waggoner, Chapman. A . E.; D. Scott, G. M. Ausbacher, S. Present membership 14.

Anchor Lodge, No 105, Knights and Ladies of Honor, was organized December 9th, 1878, with twenty charter members. First officers:--Mrs. Laura E. Waggoner, P.; Mrs Theresa Ausbacher, V. P.; A. C. Mouser, Secretary; B. W. Brockway, F. C.; Mrs. Eliza beth A. Robinson, Treasurer; A. E. D, Scott, C.; George P. Chapman, G.; W. W. Peckham, G.; W. W. Eden, S.; X. B Trower, P. P. Present officers:--Mrs. Theresa Ausbacher, P.; E. M. Robinson, V. P., B. W. Brockway, P. S.; Geo. P. Chapman Secretary; L. B. Ed en, C.; A. F. Robinson, Guide; M. Ausbacher, G.; W. W. Eden, S.; Mrs. A. L. Peckham, Treasurer.

Sullivan Lodge, No. 42, I. O. G. T., was organized May 3d, 1877 with sixty-eight charter members. First officers were--Dr. J. C Brooks, W. C. T.; Christina Freeland, W. V. T.; Dr. A. L. Kellar, W. C.; T. B. Rhodes, W. R. Secretary; C. B. Lewis, W. A S.; A. Vaughan, W. F. S.; J. H. Waggoner, W. Treasurer; John Williams, W. M.; Alice Freeland, W. D. M ; Addie E. Kellar W. I. G.; John Stricklin, W. O. G.; Laura E. Waggoner, W. L. H. S.; J. E. Kellar, W. R H. S.; O. Snyder, P. W. C. T.; Dr. T. Y. Lewis, L. D. Present officers -- B. F. G. Haggerman, W. C. T.; Jennie Hunt, W. V. T.; Reuben Lynn, W. C.; S. G. Creviston, W. R. S,; Anna Everett, W. A. S.; J. Clark Hall, W. T. S.; A. J. Beveridge, W. T.; Samuel Raymond, W. M.; Sarah Dillsaver, W. M.; Nellie Compton, W. I. G.; Samuel B. Hall, W. O. G.; Mrs. Kate William, W. L. H. S.; Mrs. Mollie Eviston, W. L. H. S.; W. E. Blac kmer P. W. C. T., T. B. Stringfield, L. D. There is at present a membership of seventy, and the organization is in splendid working order, with an average attendance of about fifty.

Page 184

Alma Council, No. 3, Royal Templar of Temperance, received its charter February 19, 1879, with fifteen members. The first officers were: J. D. Spitler, S. C. ; I. J. Mouser, V. C. ; Brooks, P. C.; E. S. Wamsley, Chap. ; B. P. Stocks, R. S. and F. S.; N. O. Smyser, H.; Mrs. Cora Mouser, D M.; Mrs. Lottie Brooks, G.; Peter Cofer, Sent.; Dr. A. L. Kellar, M. E. Present officers are J. D. Spitler, S. C.; A. L. Kellar, V. C.; J. C. Brooks, P. C.; A. C. Mouser, C.; T. B Stringfield, R. S.; A. P. Greene, F. S.; E. E. Fleming, H. ; Mrs. Emma Stringfield, D. H. ; Mrs. Kate Williams, Guard; Peter Cofer, S.; Dr. A. L. Kellar, M. E. There is at present a membership of thirty-three, and the lodge is in good standing.

Cushman, is a small village post-office and station on the Chicago division of the W. S. P. L. and P. R. R , situated on the N. E. 1/4 of the S E. 1/4 of Section 15-14-5. It was surveyed and plotted by Abraham Jones, county surveyor for William Ho ggatt, the original proprietor, July 30, 1872. The first building was a storehouse, erected by Mr. Hoggatt soon after it was laid out. There is one general store kept by J. H. Dunscomb, a blacksmith shop operated by Z. Taylor, and Kirkwood & Gilbert, de alers in grain, which constitute the business. There are about a half dozen houses in the place. It has a good store trade, and large quantities of grain are annually shipped from this place.

Hampton Station, is situated on the line of the P. D. & E. R. R., on Section thirty of 14-5. H. E. Hampton conducts a general store, and is postmaster of Dunn post-office, located at this point.

The census of 1880, gives Sullivan township a population of 3,692.


* For this data we are indebted to G. W. Vaughn, Sec.

In the spring of 1857, the citizens of Moultrie county began discussing the propriety of organizing an agricultural society in the county, and an organization was effected the year following.

Arrangements were made, however, for holding a fair in the fall of 1857, in an open piece of ground half a mile southeast of Sullivan, and it was a grand success for the county. This fair, though not held under a regular organization, was denominated the first fair of Moultrie county.

About the middle of April, 1858, notice was given for a meeting of citizens of the county, to be held at Sullivan, May 1, 1858, by E. E. Waggoner, then editor of the Sullivan Express--now of the Shelby county Democrat -- for the purpose of e ffecting a permanent organization. The meeting was held and organized by the election of David Patterson, chairman, and E. E. Waggoner, secretary. Articles of preliminary organization were drawn up at this meeting and signed by a number of the prominent citizens, among whom were B. W. Henry, Sr., B. W. Henry, Jr., J. N. Waggoner, E. E. Waggoner, David Patterson, J. H. Snyder, J. W. R. Morgan. Samuel M. Smyser, D. D. Randolph, A. B. Lee, Elihu Welton, John Roney, J ohn Rhodes, A. M. Braun, Elijah Bridwell, M. Kliver, J. R. Eden, J. E. Eden, J. A. Freeland, J. W. R. Morgan, A. B. Lee and B. W. Henry, Sr., were then appointed a committee to draft a constitution and by-laws for the association.

A meeting was again held May 15th, 1858, when the committee on constitution and by-laws made their report, and a permanent organization was effected by adopting the report, and electing as permanent officers for the society: J. W. B. Morgan, President; Da vid Patterson, Vice President; E. E. Waggoner, Secretary ; Elijah Bridwell, Treasurer; John Rhodes, John Roney, M. Kliver, A. M. Braun and Samuel M. Smyser, Directors. The name given to the organization was "The Moultrie County Agricultural Society," and the object stated to be for the promotion of Agriculture, Horticulture, and the Mechanical arts. The first fairground was located near where the first fair was held, south-east of Sullivan, and was used as such until the year 1872, when it was moved and located north-west of Sullivan, one-half mile, where the fairs of the county have been held ever since. The building on the old ground consisted of one hall, 18x36 feet, with about 100 stalls for stock, besides pens for hogs and sheep. The new ground ha s two halls; one the same as the old one, and the other of an oblong shape, about 40 ft. long and twenty feet in the centre, other out buildings, and about 176 stalls for horses, cattle and mules, and pens sufficient for other stock. A splendid amphithea tre stands near the halls, with Judges' stand, and exhibition stand in front of it. A half mile tract, one of the best in the state, is located in the grounds.

While the citizens of the county took a deep interest in the first fair, the exhibitions of stock were far inferior to the present exhibitions, which are the out growth of well-conducted county fairs. At present, the exhibition of cattle, horses and sheep are almost entirely of a thoroughbred class, whereas, in the first ones, none but common and graded stock were shown. The improvement in the horses of the present, are not so marked as that of the other stock. The fairs of the county have been heretofore managed on a pro rata system, but an effort is being made, and it is thought will succeed, to organize the society on a permanent joint-stock basis.

The present officers of the association are: - O. A. Sargent, President; J. T. Howell and John Dawson, Vice President; P. B. Gillham, Treasurer ; Geo. W. Vaughan, Secretary; Directors, T. H. Crowder, S. P. Lilly, James Bence, C. C. Bergs, R. E. Nazworthy, Reuben Adkins, and William Kirkwood. Among those most prominent in the perpetuation of the society, are T. H. Crowder, J. E. Eden, J. H. Snyder, O. A. Sargeant, John T. Howell, John Dawson, Wm. Kirkwood, C. C. Berks, Dock Patterson, A. N. Smyser, Jo. B. Taylor, S. P. Lilly, Elihu Welton, Col. Morgan, G. W. Vaughan, and others.

The organization retained its first name until the year 1872, when it was changed to its present name to conform to a law passed by the Legislature of the state, approved April 17th, 1871, entitled, "An Act to create a Department of Agriculture in the Sta te of Illinois; "which act requires that the state board should provide for the organization of the county boards of agriculture, in order that they might be recognized by law as legal organizations, and be entitled to the appropriations, made by the stat e, for the benefit and encouragement of Agriculture in the state.

The present fair grounds consist of 40 acres of ground, and although in the prairie, will soon be shaded by trees set out since the location. The fairs of the county have been like all other businesses, to some extent: sometimes very successful, and at o thers almost a failure; but through the untiring energy of a few men of the county, Moultrie is now second to but a few counties, in the central portion of the state, in the display of stock of all kinds -- much of which is owned in the county -- agricult ural, horticultural, floral, mechanical, kithchen, and dairy products.

Page 185



JOHN R. EDEN, for four terms one of the Illinois representatives in Congress, is a native of Bath county, Kentucky, and was born on the first day of February, 1826. His great grandfather was an Englishman, who emigrated to this country and settled in Maryland. His father, John Eden, was born in the city of Baltimore, and was five or six years of age at the time of the removal of the family to Kentucky. John Eden was raised in Kentucky, and married Catharine Cann, who was a native of the same sta te, but whose father was a Virginian. Mr. Eden's grandparents, both on his father's and mother's side, were among the early settlers of Kentucky, making their home in the state soon after the opening of the present century. The subject of this sketch was the third of a family of six children. In the year 1831, when he was five years old, the family moved to Rush county, Indiana. Four years later the father died, leaving his family in somewhat limited circumstances. Mr. Eden's boyhood days were spent in R ush County, a rough frontier portion of Indiana, possessing only the commonest educational facilities. As was the custom with the boys of that period, he went to school in the winter, and worked on the farm during the summer. He made the best use he cou ld of his opportunities, and at the age of eighteen, secured a position as teacher of a school in the same neighborhood where his early years were spent. He afterward taught school several winters.

Having resolved on the practice of the law in the spring of 1850, he became a student of Bigger & Logan at Rushville, Indiana, and industriously applied himself to his legal studies. After reading law two years at Rushville, he came to Illinois in the sp ring of 1852, and settled in Shelbyville with a view of establishing himself in practice at that point. He was admitted to the bar in May, 1852. He opened an office and was meeting with success in securing business, when the unfavorable condition of his h ealth occasioned his removal in August, 1853, to Sullivan, of which place his brother

Page 186

had become a resident. At that time Sullivan was a place of small size and importance. There was only one other lawyer beside himself in Moultrie county, and he was fortunate in getting an excellent start. He secured the good will and friendship of som e of the elder and prominent members of the bar in the neighboring counties, and at their suggestion in 1856, became a candidate for the position of prosecuting attorney for the seventeenth judicial district, which then comprised the nine counties of Maco n, Piatt, Moultrie, Shelby, Effingham, Fayette, Bond, Christian and Montgomery. Previous to this event his acquaintance had been confined mostly to the counties of Moultrie and Shelby. His four years' service as prosecuting attorney brought him in conta ct with the people of the different counties composing the district, while the position was one which, of necessity, was of great value in developing his talents as a lawyer. In the trial of important criminal cases he was frequently opposed by such able lawyers as Linder, Thornton, Moulton and Ficklin, who tested his abilities to the utmost.

In his politics he had always been a Democrat, and in 1860, received the Democratic nomination for representative in the legislature. The district was strongly Republican, and he was defeated by a few votes. In 1862, the Democracy of the seventh congres sional district, comprising the counties of Iroquois, Ford, Vermillion, Champaign, Piatt, Macon, Moultrie, Douglas, Edgar, Coles and Cumberland, made him their candidate for representative in Congress. These counties in 1860, had given a Republican major ity of about sixteen hundred, but Mr. Eden was elected with fourteen hundred votes to spare, and in March, 1863, took his seat in the thirty-eighth Congress. The war of the rebellion was then in progress. The Democratic members of Congress formed only a small minority. He was placed on the Committees on Accounts and Revolutionary Pensions. He supported the measures necessary for the suppression of the war of the rebellion. In 1864, he was renominated by the Democrats without opposition, but a Republi can was returned from the district. He then gave his whole attention to his law practice, till 1868, when he was made the Democratic candidate for governor against Palmer. He thoroughly canvassed the state, making speeches in almost every county, but wa s, of course, defeated with the balance of the ticket. In June, 1872, though he made no efforts to obtain the nomination, nor was present at the convention, he received the Democratic nomination for representative in Congress in the present fifteenth dis trict. He was elected, and in 1874, and again in 1876, was re-elected. His services in the house are well known to the people of the district he represented. In the Forty-Fourth and Forty-Fifth Congresses, he took a particularly active part in the gene ral business of the house, and the vigor of his opposition to all kinds of subsidies, and the various schemes for the depletion of the treasury attracted general attention. During the last four years of his service he was chairman of the Committee on War Claims. This position threw on him a vast amount of labor, the numerous claims which came before the committee requiring the closest scrutiny. He was a member of the special committee appointed by the house of representatives to investigate the preside ntial election of 1876, in South Carolina, and with other members of the committee visited that state.

Since the expiration of his term as member of the Congress, he has been engaged in the practice of law in Sullivan and in farming. During the years 1870 and 1871, he was resident in Decatur. His marriage took place on the seventh of August, 1856, to Roxan na Meeker, daughter of Ambrose Meeker. He has five children living. He has always taken an active part on politics, and in every important political campaign since 1856, has been a ready and earnest advocate of the principles of the Democratic party. In his election to important positions he has been honored, but in every instance has justified the confidence placed in his ability and integrity. He has passed through his years of public service without the smell of corruption on his garments and whether a private citizen or in public life has always been the same honest, plain and unpretending man of the people.


WHO has been since 1877 judge of the Moultrie county court, is a native of Delaware County, Ohio, and was born on the 25th of July, 1831. His father, Ambrose Meeker, was born near Orange, New Jersey. He was a descendant of a family which had settle d at an early date in Connecticut, and removed from there to Now Jersey. About the year 1821 he emigrated to Ohio, making the whole journey on foot. At Newark, Ohio, in 1824, he married Hannah Hartwell, who was born at Plymouth, Mass, through her mother s he was connected with the Ripleys, one of the early New England families. Jonathan Meeker, the subject of this sketch, was the third of a family of four children. Two died on reaching the age of eighteen, and two, -- Judge Meeker and his sister, Mrs. John R. Eden, -- are now living. His father was a blacksmith by trade, and carried on that business for many years, which he finally quit to engage in farming. When Judge Meeker was about a year old the family left Delaware county, and afterward lived at Aetn a, Ohio, and at Marysville, in Union county, where he was principally raised. In the fall of 1846 the family moved from Ohio to Illinois. One year was spent in Hancock county, and then in the fall of 1847 they went to Clark county, where the winter was sp ent with Judge Meeker's uncle, Enoch Meeker, and then in February, 1847, they became residents of Sullivan. On the 30th of March, 1848, a short time after their arrival, his mother died. He had attended school but little in Ohio. After coming to Sullivan he attended the high school two or three winters, and secured a more thorough education. He learned the blacksmith trade with his father, at which he worked till twenty-four or twenty-five years of age.

He began the study of the law at Sullivan in 1857, and in 1858 was admitted as a member of the bar. On the 20th of November, 1860, he married Nancy, daughter of Robert Parker; she was a resident of Jasper county, Indiana, where the marriage took place. Fr om 1862 to 1864 he acted as deputy circuit clerk, and had the entire management of the office. In 1864 he was the Democratic candidate for prosecuting attorney for the judicial district comprising Macon, Moultrie and Piatt counties. The district was stron gly Republican, and he was defeated by a few votes. In 1867, on the adoption of township organization, he was elected the first member of the board of supervisors from Sullivan township, and the first chairman of the board. He was re-elected in 1868 and 1 869, and each term served as chairman. He was also a member of the board in 1876 and 1877.

In 1870 he was elected to represent Moultrie county in the twenty-seventh general assembly. This was the first session of the legislature after the adoption of the new state constitution. A revision and remodeling of the laws became necessary, and the leg islature was in session the greater part of the time for two years. He was elected county judge in 1877. In addition to the practice of the law he has been engaged in farming. He has five children. He has been an active Democrat in politics.

Page 187


CAPTAIN Alfred N. Smyser, whose death occurred in January, 1880, was one of the old and prominent citizens of Moultrie county.

He was born in Cynthiana, Harrison county, Kentucky, on the 27th of November, 1828. The Smyser family in this country had its origin from three brothers, Matthias, Jacob, and George, who came to America in the year 1736; the name was then spelled Schmeisc er." Two of these brothers settled in Erie county, Pennsylvania. From Mathias Schmeiscer, this branch of the family is descended. George and Matthias took part in the war of the Revolution, one of them as an officer. George Smyser, grand-father of Captain Smyser, emigrated from Pennsylvania to Kentucky at an early period. Samuel Merritt Smyser, his father, was born in Kentucky, and married Rebecca Frazier, a native of the same state; her uncle, Captain Frazier, was a soldier in the Revolution; he commande d a company of soldiers at an engagement at Brattleboro, Vermont. It is said that the vigor and bravery he displayed attracted the attention of the British commander, who gave orders that his troops should direct their fire at his person; he fell in that engagement mortally wounded, Samuel M. and Rebecca Smyser, in company with two or three other families, removed to Moultrie county, Illinois, reaching their destination on November 1st. Their route was through Indianapolis, then a small straggling town, m ade up of a few houses lining a single street. The place of their settlement was on Whitley Creek, in section 10, of township 12, range 6, then in Shelby county, now in the south part of Moultrie. Their neighbors on Whitley Creek were, at first, only four or five in number.

He received a common school education; though the schools in general were inferior, some of the teachers were men of much intelligence and education. The schools were two miles, and two and a half distant. He attended school in winter, and in summer worke d on the firm; his education was improved in after years by general reading. April 15th, 1847, he married Isyphena Edwards, daughter of John Wayne Edwards and Polly Hardy; she was born in Barren county, Kentucky, on the 19th of March, 1827; the Edwards fa mily had resided in North Carolina before making their home in Kentucky, in Hart county, where Mrs. Smyser's parents were born; her mother's brother, James G. Hardy, was lieutenant-governor of Kentucky. Mrs. Smyser's parents moved to Whitley Creek in the full of 1830, and were about the fourth family to settle in that locality. The preceding settlers were connected with the Whitley family from whom the creek received its name. After his marriage Captain Smyser began the arduous task of clearing up a farm; he gave his attention to farming in the summer, and in the winter taught school; he had a strong, natural taste for music, and frequently taught the singing classes held in the district school-houses in the winter season. In 1854 he had his first suit at law; his attorney was Abraham Lincoln, then a practicing lawyer on the Illinois circuits.

He gave up farming and moved to Sullivan, in September, 1857, and engaged in the mercantile business till 1860. In the general financial crash of that year he went down with many other unfortunate men who sold on credit. In November, 1861, he was elected clerk of the county court; in August, 1862, he was enlisted in the war for the preservation of the Union, and was elected captain of company C, 126th Illinois Volunteer Infantry. During the greater part of his service he was on detached and special duty; he acted as adjutant and aid-de-camp to General Steele; he took part

Page 188
in the siege of Vicksburg and the capture of Little Rock; he returned home in the spring of 1864, and closed his term as county clerk, his youngest brother, Hugh F. Smyser, having had charge of the office during his absence in the army. From 1865 to 1869 he was engaged in the real estate, insurance, and loan business. In November, 1869, he was again elected county clerk.

He was a man of progressive ideas and public spirit, and largely to his efforts Moultrie county is indebted for her railroad facilities In 1868 he was instrumental in securing a charter for the Decatur, Sullivan, and Mattoon Railroad; a construction compa ny was formed, but very little was done in furtherance of the project till 1870, when he was elected president of the company, and the work was pushed through to completion. One of the first locomotives to reach Sullivan bore the name of Alfred N. Smyser, in honor of the first president of the company; he was also a member of the first board of directors of the Bloomington and Ohio River, afterwards the Chicago and Paducah railroad company; he assisted in organizing the Moultrie county agricultural board, and for several years was its president. From 1872 till the time of his death he was engaged in the real estate, loan, and insurance business, which, by his industry he made quite lucrative. His desire to help his fellowman led him to go on commercial pa per here and there as security until in 1877 and 1878 he was almost crushed financially by paying the debts of other people. In July, 1846, he became a member of the Christian Church, and at the time of his death was one of the most faithful and energetic workers in the organization, taking great delight especially in Sunday-school work. He possessed by nature a good constitution, and in early life excelled in athletic exercises; his health was injured by his service in the army. After a sickness of nearl y two years he died on the 20th of January, 1880; he had six children -- William H. Smyser, now editor of the Champaign Times, and also one of the proprietors of the Sullivan Progress; Katie E, who married John Duncan, (her death occurred on the 5th of February, 1880, and that of her husband the previous 23d of December), Lucretia Frances, who died at the age of two years and three months, Mary Josephine, now Mrs. John F. Eden, N. O. Smyser, and Samuel Edward Smyser.


A MEMBER Of the Moultrie county bar, is a native of Carroll county, Ohio, and was born on the third of September, 1839. His grandfather, Edward Greene, was a resident of county Antrim, Ireland. His father, James Greene, was born in Ireland, near th e city of Dublin, in the year 1800. His grandfather emigrated to America with the family about 1812, and settled in Belmont county, Ohio. Both Mr. Greene's father and grandfather were members of the Society of Friends, and formed part of a Quaker colony w hich settled at an early date in Belmont county, Ohio, near Wrightstown. James Greene was raised in Belmont county, and in Columbiana county married Martha V. Preston, who also belonged to a Quaker family. She was born in Virginia, near Lynchburg. Her fat her, Peter Preston, on account of his religious views, liberated his slaves in Virginia and moved to Ohio.

The subject of this sketch was raised in Carroll county, Ohio. The Athens Manual Labor University at Albany, Athens county, Ohio, offered him a chance to obtain an education. In this institution the students had an opportunity to pay for their board and t uition by labor. After spending two years there, he attended the Damascus Academy in Columbiana county, Ohio. He had reached the age of twenty-one at the time of breaking out of the war of the rebellion. After spending the winter of 1861-2 in Canada, in t he spring of 1862 he was appointed by President Lincoln dispatch agent, the duties of which position would have taken him to Europe, but before he received his commission, enlisted at Philadelphia in the Sixty -eighth Pennsylvania regiment, otherwise know n as the Scott Legion. He served with this regiment till the close of the war as a noncommissioned officer. The regiment was in the Army of the Potomac, and took part in the severe battles which marked the progress of the war in Virginia. Among the engage ments in which he was present was the second battle of Bull Run, South Mountain, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, the Wilderness, Spottsylvania Court-House, and Petersburg. He was at Appomattox at the time of Lee's surrender, the la st great event of the war.

After the expiration of his time of service he returned to Ohio. In September, 1853, he entered the law department of the Michigan University at Ann Arbor, from which he graduated in March, 1867. A short time afterwards he was admitted to the bar of Illin ois at Chicago. In April, 1867, he came to Sullivan. He became editor of the Moultrie Union Banner, the name of which was changed to the Okaw Republican. James P. Hughes, now of Mattoon, was his partner, both in the newspaper and law busines s. In 1868 he was appointed United States Internal Revenue Assessor for the counties of Moultrie, Piatt and Douglas. On the abolition by Congress of this office he began the active practice of the law, in which he has since been engaged. Since 1874 he has been Master in Chancery. His wife, to whom he was married in April, 1872, was formerly Miss Mattie Johnson, of Vernon, Indiana. He has always taken an active interest in politics. His father was one of the early republicans, and original free-soilers of Carroll county, Ohio, and was the first man in East township of that county to cast a vote for the free-soil ticket. Mr. Greene has always been a republican. His first vote for president was cast for Lincoln in 1860. He was for several years chairman of t he Moultrie County Republican Central Committee. In 1872 he was the unanimous choice of Moultrie county for the republican nomination for representative in the legislature, but to preserve harmony in the district withdrew from the contest. He was a delega te to the Republican National Convention at Chicago in 1880. An idea of his position and views as a republican can best he conveyed by stating that he was one of the three hundred and six who adhered to the last in their support of Grant, for whom he cast thirty-six ballots.


AMONG the prominent farmers of Sullivan township, may be mentioned the name that heads this sketch. He was born in Pickaway county, Ohio, March 10th, 1824. His father, Thomas Harris, was a native of Maryland, and emigrated to Ohio about 1820. He ra ised a family of eight children, four sons and four daughters. In 1843, he came to Illinois, and settled near where the subject of our sketch now lives, and resided in the county until his death in 1851. Joseph T. Harris grew up on a farm, and has made fa rming his life occupation. What he has in this world's goods, he gained by hard work and economy. For a number of years he worked for different farmers by the month, and now by the fruits of his industry has one of the best stock farms in the vincinity in which he lives. This farm contains 440 acres, a view of which may be seen in another part of this work. Mr. Harris has been twice married and raised a family of ten children, seven now living. In politics he has been a staunch Republican since the organi zation of the party.

Page 189


WILLIAM KIRKWOOD, who was elected in 1879 and 1880 Mayor of Sullivan, is an Ohioan by birth. He was born in Ross county, Ohio, on the fourth of November, 1836. He was the second of a family of seven children. His father, James Kirkwood, was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, and was raised in Franklin county, of the same state. His mother, whose maiden name was Ann J. I. Young, was a native of Ireland. His parents moved from Pennsylvania to Ohio in the fall of 1834, and settled in Ross county, within five miles of Chillicothe, in which vicinity Mr. Kirkwood's early years were spent. In the year 1857, when he was twenty, his father moved to Illinois, and settled in Moultrie county, five miles south-west of Sullivan. Mr. Kirkwood had obtained hi s early education in the district schools of Ohio. After coming to this state he attended school at Sullivan and Shelbyville. He secured the means with which to prosecute his studies by teaching school. He took part as a soldier in the war of the rebellio n. He enlisted in August, 1862, in company C, of the One Hundred and Twenty-sixth Illinois regiment. For one year his company was detailed for service in the artillery. His regiment was in the siege of Vicksburg, and took part in the capture of Little Roc k, Arkansas. In the fall of 1865, after his return from the army, he was elected county surveyor, and held that position two years. In 1871 he engaged in the grain business at Sullivan, as a member of the firm of Baker, Dodson & Co. His present partnershi p with W. C. Gilbert, was formed in 1874. He was elected a member of the first board of aldermen under the new city charter of Sullivan. He was elected Mayor of Sullivan in the spring of 1879, and was re-elected in 1880. He is Democratic in politics. He i s one of the enterprising and progressive business men of Sullivan. He is widely known throughout the county, and his genial disposition and accomodating manners have made him many friends.

Page 190


JOHN A. FREELAND, now the oldest resident of Sullivan, was born in Orange county, North Carolina, February 22, 1818. He is descended from a family of Scotch Irish origin. James Freeland, his great-grandfather, emigrated from the north of Ireland to America, first settled in Pennsylvania, and in 1755, settled in Orange county, North Carolina. During the Revolutionary war, the British general Cornwallis, camped on his farm just before the battle of Guilford Court-house. His oldest son was one of the force raised to protect Hillsborough, the Whig capital of the state, from the British, and was killed in its defence. Mr. Freeland's grandfather's name was John Freeland, and his father's name James Freeland. The latter married Jane Strain, who was born i n Orange county, North Carolina, and also belonged to the same Scotch-Irish stock. Her father, Alexander Strain, moved to North Carolina from Pennsylvania.

The subject of this sketch was the oldest of a family of eleven children. His education was obtained in the "old field schools" of North Carolina. Good academies were in existence near his home, but being the oldest son he was obliged to remain at home an d assist in obtaining a support for the family. A great part of his education was obtained by his own efforts. In February, 1836, when he was eighteen, his father removed with the family to Maury county, Tennessee, and settled on Duck River, forty miles s outh of Nashville. He accompanied the family to Tennessee; in April secured a school and taught during the summer. In the fall the rest of the family came on to Illinois, but Mr. Freeland remained behind to finish his term of school. He was also for a tim e sick with the ague. On the first day of January, 1837, he set out for Illinois. A steamboat carried him from Nashville to Paducah but he was unable to proceed further by river on account of floating ice. Crossing to the Illinois side he started on foot, disabled and crippled as he was, for this part of the state. The journey was partly made on crutches, though he obtained a chance to ride a portion of the way. At the post-office at Shelbyville, he first became acquainted with John Perryman, with whom af terward for many years he was associated on terms of strong friendship. For two years after coming to the county he taught school in the northeastern part of Shelby county, and afterward two years in Macon county, south of Decatur. While in Macon county h is marriage occurred, (on the 11th of November, 1841,) to Mary Law, a native of Wilson county, Tennessee. He subsequently taught school on the Marrowbone, and on the organization of Moultrie county in 1843, he was elected county clerk and recorder. He was the first person in the county to fill those offices. He held the office of recorder till the adoption of the new constitution made the circuit clerk ex officio recorder. He was re-elected several times county clerk, and occupied that position for fiftee n years.

In his political views he was in harmony with the Whig party, in the days when the old Whig and Democratic organizations appealed to the support of the people. The first vote he ever gave was in August, 1840, for Charles Emerson as representative in the l egislature, and David Davis as state senator. Both were defeated. His first vote for President was cast for Harrison, the Whig candidate, in November of the same year. He was opposed to the extension of slavery, and was one of the men who assisted to form the Republican party in this part of the state. In May, 1856, at a thinly attended meeting held at Sullivan, he was elected to represent Moultrie county in the Bloomington convention, which may be said to have given birth to the Republican party in Illin ois. He has been a steadfast Republican from that time to present. His physical misfortunes prevented him from serving in the war of the Rebellion, but there was no lack of patriotism in the family, and two brothers volunteered. One, William Thomas Freela nd, was lieutenant and acting captain of a company in the Forty-Ninth Illinois regiment, and died in the hospital at St. Louis, from wounds received at the battle of Shiloh. In 1872, Mr. Freeland received the Republican nomination and was elected represen tative in the Twenty-Eighth General Assembly for the district embracing Moultrie, Coles and Douglas counties. He served during both the regular and called session, and had the pleasure of assisting to elect to the United States Senate, Gen. Richard J. Ogl esby, with whom he was acquainted when he began his career as a young lawyer at Sullivan.

He has had two children, James Law Freeland, who died in infancy, and Rosannah Jane, now the widow of Ebon T. Cox. He has been a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church for many years. He was one of the original members of the church of that denomina tion at Sullivan, and in it holds the position of elder. From the age of twelve years he has had only the partial use of his limbs, and has suffered this disadvantage through life. He belongs however, to a long-lived family, his grandfather and great-gran dfather having died at the age of eighty-four, and his father at the age of seventy-eight. He is now one of the oldest citizens of the county, and few persons are better acquainted with the incidents connected with its early settlement.


W. H. SHINN, prosecuting attorney for Moultrie county, is a native of Pike county of this state, and was born on the eleventh of February, 1849. The Shinn family is of Scotch origin, and sprang from three brothers who emigrated from Scotland to Ame rica. Mr. Shinn's grandfather, John Shinn, was born in New Jersey, and moved to Cincinnati about the year 1822, and after living there nine years settled in Pike county, Illinois, near the present town of Griggsville. At that time there were few settlemen ts in that part of the state, and he was one of the early pioneers. There were no schools or churches; the nearest post-office was Alton; and the settlers were destitute of many of the ordinary conveniences of life. John Shinn was a local preacher in the Methodist Church, and did much toward upbuilding the interests of the denomination in that part of Illinois. When Peter Cartwright first came to Pike county, he held his first meeting in the log cabins of the Shinns, and Mr. Shinn's grandfather frequently accompanied him in his itinerant labors.

Clement L. Shinn, father of the subject of this sketch, was born at Camden, New Jersey, in December, 1815. He was about seven when the family moved to Cincinnati, and sixteen when they came to this state. He grew up to manhood in Pike county, and married Catharine Hollins, who was born in Baltimore, Maryland, and was a child of tender age when her parents moved to Pike county, Illinois. On the breaking out of the rebellion he enlisted in the Seventy-third Illinois regiment infantry, and served over a year , till discharged on account of disability. He took part in a number of engagements. He held a commission as second lieutenant. He moved to Moultrie county in December, 1864, and now resides near Summit, in Whitley township.

W. H. Shinn was the youngest of two children. The early years of his life were spent in Pike county. In 1862, at the age of thirteen, he enlisted as a drummer boy in the Sixty-eighth regiment, Illinois regiment, Illinois infantry. He was in the service fi ve months. He accompanied his regiment from Camp Butler, Springfield, to Washington.

Page 191

The Sixty-eighth was the first Illinois infantry regiment to make its appearance at Washington, and was reviewed and frequently visited by President Lincoln, several of the officers and men having been his personal acquaintances. The regiment was afterwar d sent to Alexandria, Virginia, then to Fairfax Seminary, and was at Fort Lyon at the time of the second battle of Bull Run. The regiment soon afterward returned to Illinois, and was mustered out at Camp Butler. Mr. Shinn obtained his early education in t he public schools of Griggsville. He was in his fifteenth year when he came to this county. During 1867 and 1868, he was a student at McKendree College at Lebanon. In 1872 he went to St. Louis, and for five months was weigh-master in the Old Broadway stoc k yards. The winter of 1872-3 he spent in Texas, returning to Illinois in the spring, and beginning the study of law with James W. Craig at Mattoon. January, 1877, he was admitted to the bar, and began practice at Sullivan. Previous to his admission to th e bar he had acquired in the office of Mr. Craig, then prosecuting attorney, a familiarity with criminal law, and during his practice in Moultrie county has justly earned an excellent reputation in this field of legal learning. In November, 1880, he was e lected prosecution attorney. He is a Democrat in politics. In 1878 he received the Democratic nomination for representative in the legislature from Douglas, Coles and Moultrie counties, but withdrew from the race of his own accord, to preserve harmony in the party. He was married in February, 1877, to Cora R. Randolph. By this marriage he has two children. Mr. Shinn is a gentleman of energy and fine natural talents, and during his practice at the Moultrie county bar, has made rapid progress in his profess ion.


WILLIAM ELDER, who is engaged in the banking business at Sullivan, is a native of East Tennessee, and was born on the 17th of May, 1824. His grandfather, William Elder, was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and an early resident of East Tennessee . His father, James Elder, married Didama French, a native of North Carolina. The subject of this sketch was the oldest of six children. In the spring of 1834, when he was ten years of age, his father moved with the family to this state, and first settled in Morgan county, on the site of the present town of Waverly. He remained there during the summer, but not being able to obtain cheap land, in the fall came to what is now East Nelson township, Moultrie county. Mr. Elder's father subsequently moved to Su llivan, and for several years carried on the mercantile business. He was a man of considerable prominence. Before the organization of the county he acted as justice of the peace; for several years was county judge and also served as representative in the state legislature. He died in 1870.

The subject of this sketch obtained his education in the old-time log school-houses, with split poles for benches. On the 12th of April, 1846, he married Louisa Ewing, daughter of Reuben Ewing, one of the pioneer settlers of Moultrie county, representativ e in the legislature and one of the commissioners to locate the county seat. After his marriage Mr. Elder went to farming near Sullivan, where he has since improved several farms. From 1854 to 1858, he was a resident of Dallas county, Iowa. In 1870, he be came interested in the banking business at Sullivan, which his father had commenced the preceding year. The Merchants' and Farmers' Bank has maintained an excellent reputation as a solid financial institution. He has also been engaged in dealing in real e state and trading in stock. He was formerly a Whig in politics, voted for Taylor in 1848, and has been a Republican since the organization of that party. He has been a shrewd and successful businessman, and is now one of the old settlers and representativ e businessmen of Moultrie county. He has two children, James W. Elder, now in the hardware business at Sullivan, and Lena Elder.


Now the oldest dry goods merchant at Sullivan, is a Virginian by birth. He was born in Loudon county, of the Old Dominion, on the 3d of October, 1820. The Roane family was of English origin, and settled in Virginia at an early period. His father, James Ro ane, was born in Virginia, and married Mrs. Mary Bartlett, whose maiden name was Taylor. She was a native of Virginia. Her father, Col. Timothy Taylor, was a Pennsylvanian by birth. He belonged to a Quaker family, though he himself was not connected with that society. During the war of 1812, he commanded a regiment raised in Loudon county. The, subject of this sketch grew to manhood in his native county. His home was in a large Quaker settlement, and his education was principally obtained in a Quaker sch ool in the neighborhood. Part of the time he was engaged in surveying, and also for a while taught school. In the year 1850, then thirty years of age, he went to West Virginia, and for about four years was employed there in surveying. He came to Illinois in 1854, and became a resident of Sullivan. In 1855, he entered the county clerk's office, and after serving as deputy two years, in 1857 was elected county clerk, and filled the office for four years. In January, 1862, after the expiration of his term as county clerk, he purchased a stock of goods of Judge James Elder, and began the mercantile business. He has carried on business in the same store at the south-east corner of the square for the last twenty years, and is well-known as a businessman to the people of Moultrie county. He was married on the 12th of August, 1856, to Lucy P. Garland, of Sullivan, daughter of N. A. Garland. Mrs. Roane was born in St. Louis, but her early years were spent in Bedford county, Virginia. In his political opinions Mr. Roane has been a Republican since the dissolution of the old Whig party. As a businessman and a private citizen, he has always stood highly in the community, and his name finds mention here as one of the representative men of Moultrie County.


THIS gentleman, editor and one of the proprietors of the Sullivan Progress, is a native of Bloomfield, Davis county, Iowa, and was born on the twenty-fourth of January, 1846. His father, Robert Mize, was a Kentuckian. His mother, Martha A. W illiamson, was born in Ohio. Her ancestors came to that state from Connecticut. Mr. Mize obtained his early education at Bloomfield. His mother was a woman of excellent education, and to her instruction her children are indebted for a great part of their literary acquirements. When Mr. Mize was fifteen, his father moved with the family to Champaign county, Illinois, and afterward resided in Fountain county, Indiana, and in Moultrie, Macon, Wayne, and Marion counties of this state. The family first came to Moultrie county in the fall of 1862, and returned from Marion county to Moultrie in the fall of 1862, and returned from Marion county to Moultrie in the fall of 1866. At the age of sixteen Mr. Mize took charge of a school in Marrowbone township. For one year he was a salesman for a St. Louis drug house, and also for a short time ran a sawmill. He was also principal of the schools of Sullivan. In the

Page 192

summer of 1870 he went to Missouri, and the succeeding winter to California. He was a year in California, during which he spent considerable time in the mines, and was also engaged in teaching. His school was on the coast, one hundred miles north of San Francisco, and his pupils embraced all nationalities, even including halfbreed Indians. His school district was seven miles in breadth by twelve in length.

After returning from California he taught two terms in the Newtonia Academy, in south-west Missouri. April 19th, 1873, he returned to Sullivan. He had begun learning the printing business in Iowa, when a small boy, and during the summer of 1873 worked as a compositor on the Sullivan Plaindealer. November, 1873, in partnership with William H. Smyser, he purchased the Sullivan Progress, with which he has since been connected. In April, 1879, he and Mr. Smyser also became interested in the Cham paign Times which is now published under the firm name of Smyser, Mize & Co. Mr. Mize has retained entire charge of the Sullivan Progress, and has succeeded in making it one of the best papers of central Illinois. He is a staunch democrat in politics, and is the present secretary of the State Democratic Central Committee. For several years he has been chairman of the Moultrie County Democratic Central Committee.


WHO since 1877, has served as treasurer of Moultrie county, is a native of the county, and was born in the present Whitley township, on the twenty-third of December, 1848. He is descended from a Scotch-Irish family. His great-grandfather, Andrew Sc ott, was born in Scotland, emigrated to America, and settled in Pennsylvania. He removed to Kentucky in the year 1782, when his son, Arthur, was five years old, and settled in the present Bourbon county. He was one of the pioneer settlers, making his home in the state in the time of Daniel Boone. Mr. Scott's grandfather was named Arthur Scott. His father, Andrew Scott, was born on the seventh of September, 1803. He was raised in Kentucky, and in the year 1829 came with the family to Illinois, and settled on Kickapoo, in Coles county. In 1832 they removed to Whitley creek. Andrew Scott served through the Black Hawk war. On the twenty-eighth of June, 1839, he married Martha J. Waggoner, daughter of Amos and Narcissa (Jay) Waggoner. Her parents were both bor n in Rutherford county, North Carolina, and emigrated from that state to Illinois in April, 1828, and settled on Whitley creek, and were among the first families to make their home in that part of the county. Andrew Scott was a mason by trade. He was the contractor and builder of the first courthouse, and of the seminaries at Shelbyville and Sullivan. He served for several years as county commissioner, and assisted in laying off the original town of Sullivan. He removed to Missouri in 1855, and died in Su llivan county of that state in 1857.

The subject of this sketch was the fifth of a family of nine children. He was seven years of age at the time of the removal of the family to Missouri. In the fall of 1864 his mother returned with the family to Illinois. He had little opportunity of atten ding school in Missouri. The progress of the war made the part of the state in which they lived unsettled and dangerous. After coming back to this state he attended the seminary at Shelbyville during the winter of 1867-8 and of 1869-70. He was a student a t the Jacksonville Business College in 1871-2 and 1872-3. In March, 1873, after quitting school, he entered the circuit clerk's office (his uncle, J. H. Waggoner, then being circuit clerk), where he remained till the fall of 1877, when he was elected trea surer of Moultrie county.

He was re-elected in 1879, and has filled the position with satisfaction to the people of the county. He was married on the seventh of September, 1876, to Sarah E. Baker, daughter of Joseph Baker, one of the early citizens of Moultrie county. By this marr iage he has had two children, sons, of whom one is now living. In his politics Mr. Scott is a democrat, and one of the active supporters of the democratic party in Moultrie county. He is known as a gentleman of enterprise and public spirit, and as one of the representative young men of Moultrie county.


DR. COKENOWER, now principal of the public schools of Sullivan, was born in Shelby county on the 13th of August, 1850; his father, Michael Cokenower, was born in Pennsylvania, and came to Illinois and settled south of Shelbyville about the year 182 0. Dr. Cokenower's mother, whose name before marriage was Thomson, was also connected with one of the early families of Shelby county; she was the daughter of John Thomson, one of the pioneer settlers. The subject of this sketch was raised in the southern part of Shelby county; after attending the seminary at Shelbyville he entered Westfield College, in Clark county, where he completed his literary education. After finishing his studies he received a State teacher's certificate. In 1870 he took charge of a school in Shelby county, and part of the time since has been engaged in teaching in Shelby and Moultrie counties, and at Altamont, in Effingham county. While teaching he began the study of medicine; he attended lectures at the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Keokuk, Iowa, from which he graduated in the spring of 1877, and subsequently entered the Kentucky School of Medicine at Louisville, from which he received a diploma in the summer of 1880. Since the fall of 1879 he has been principal of school s at Sullivan. Under his vigorous administration the schools of Sullivan have reached a high state of efficiency, and Dr. Cokenower has justly secured an enviable reputation as a thorough and able teacher. In the future he proposes devoting his attention exclusively to the practice of his profession. He is a republican in politics.


THE proprietor of the Sullivan elevator, was born in Franklin county, Kentucky, May the first, 1840. His grandfather was one of the pioneer settlers of Kentucky. He made his home in that state when settlers were few in number, and incurred great da nger from the attacks of the Indians. His father, Samuel Bristow, was born in Franklin county, Kentucky, in the year 1798. He was raised in the same part of the state, and married Ann Long, who belonged to a Virginia family which settled early in Kentucky . The subject of this sketch was the seventh of a family of eleven children. He was raised on the Kentucky river, a short distance below Frankfort, the capital of the state. In the spring of 1860, then in his twentieth year, he came to Illinois, and remai ned two or three years with a brother in the southern part of Moultrie county. He then returned to Kentucky, where he remained till 1865, and then the family emigrated to Moultrie county, where his father died. In 1867 Mr. Bristow was appointed postmaster of the Whitley Point post-office, and held that position for six or seven years. He was also employed in the grain business at Summit by the firm of I. & D. D. James. In 1875 he came to Sullivan to manage the grain business for D. D. James, who then carr ied on the elevator. In

Page 193

1878 he went into the grain business on his own account, and January, 1880, purchased the elevator at Sullivan, known as the Moultrie county elevator. He has since been occupied in this business, and is favorably known in Moultrie county as a business man . He was married on the twenty-eighth of October, 1880, to Miss Adda Ewing, daughter of the late Judge Ewing, of Sullivan, one of the pioneer settlers of Moultrie county. In his politics Mr. Bristow has always been a democrat though he has taken no active part in politics, and has devoted his attention to his own business affairs. As one of the representative businessmen of Sullivan, this brief sketch of his history appears in these pages.


W. C. GILBERT, who has been in the grain business at Sullivan, in partnership with William Kirkwood for the last five years, is a native of Livingston county, New York, and was born on the 14th of November, 1843; his father, Eralsamond Gilbert, was also a native of the State of New York, and his mother, Keziah Leavenworth, of Connecticut. The subject of this sketch was the third of four children; he was raised in the town of Fowlerville, Livingston county. Obtaining his preliminary education, he we nt to Oberlin, Ohio, where he had an uncle living, and became a student in Oberlin College; he was compelled to return home in about a year on account of ill-health. In August, 1862, he entered the army, enlisting in company K of the 8th New York Cavalry, in which he served till the close of the war. His regiment formed a part of the Army of the Potomac, and was under Generals Pleasanton, Custer, and Wilson, and other division commanders: it took part in the raids under Sheridan in the vicinity of Richmon d. He was taken prisoner at Dumfries, Virginia, on the Potomac, below Washington, in March, 1863, and for several weeks was an inmate of the Libby prison. From 1865 to 1869 he was engaged in the grain business in Chicago; the latter year he went to Kansas , and for about two years and a half was in the stock business in Cherokee county, in that State; he afterwards returned to Chicago, and in 1875 came to Sullivan, where he formed a partnership with William Kirkwood to carry on the grain business. He was m arried on the 14th of November, 1878, to Nancy E. Watson, of Douglas county. Mr. Gilbert is known as a capable businessman. He has always been a republican in politics; he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Knights of Honor.


FOR sixteen years circuit clerk of Moultrie county, was born in the present Whitley township, then a part of Shelby county, September 1st, 1832. His ancestors were of German origin, and resided in North Carolina. His father, Amos Waggoner, and his mother, Narcissa Jay, were born, raised, and married in Rutherford county, North Carolina. They came to Illinois and settled on Whitley creek in 1828. Mr. Waggoner was raised in that part of the county. In 1850, when he was eighteen, his father moved with the family to Sullivan, and died in 1854. Amos Waggoner was a man of of natural ability though like most of the early pioneers he was self educated. He served two or three terms as justice of the peace, and at the time of his death was associate judge. W hen about twenty-two Mr. Waggoner took charge of a school and taught three terms. In the spring of 1858, in partnership with his brothers, he purchased the Sullivan Express, which had been established the preceding fall, and was the first newspaper published in Moultrie county. He was connected with this paper till 1860. In 1861 he was elected assessor and treasurer of the county, and served two years. In 1864 he was elected circuit clerk, and was reelected for three terms, thus filling the office for sixteen years in succession -- a longer period than any other county officer has held position in Moultrie county. Since the expiration of his last term as circuit clerk his time has been devoted to the abstract business. He was married on the twelfth of February, 1858, to Laura E. Henry, daughter of Elder B. W. Henry, one of the early ministers of the Christian church. Mrs. Waggoner was born in Shelby county. He has seven children by this marriage. He has always been a democrat. For more than twenty years he has been a member of the Christian church at Sullivan. He is now one of the oldest citizens of the county, there being few persons now living, who were residents of what is now Shelby county, at the time of his birth.


J. H. VANHISE, who has been a citizen of this part of the state since 1841, is a native of Virginia, and was born in Shenandoah county, of that state, on the 3d of January, 1814. On his father's side he is of low Dutch descent. His ancestors emigra ted from Holland and settled in New Jersey at an early period. His grandfather was named Abraham Vanhise. He was born in New Jersey, and resided in that state during the Revolutionary war. During that war he served in the Continental army as wagon master, and thus did his part toward securing the independence of the thirteen colonies. After the Revolution he moved to Virginia, and settled in the Shenandoah valley. Mr. Vanhise's father had in his possession an old musket which was carried by a comrade of A braham Vanhise through the Revolution. Mr. Vanhise also has a purse which his grandfather carried in the Revolution. James Vanhise, father of the subject of this sketch, was born and raised in Sbenandoah county, Virginia, and married Nancy Winstead, who w as of English descent. James Harrison Vanhise was the second of a family of eight children, and the oldest who grew to maturity. His oldest brother died in childhood. Of the seven who are still living, five reside in this state, one in Iowa, and one in Ka nsas.

In 1818 the family removed from Virginia to Ohio. Mr. Vanhise was then four years of age. He has no recollection of his early home in Virginia, with the exception of one circumstance: While his mother was washing on the banks of the Shenandoah river, he g ot beyond his depth in the stream, and his mother rescued him from drowning. He remembers nothing of the long journey from Virginia to Ohio. On reaching the latter state they settled in Fairfield county, and in that locality he was, principally, raised. H e was brought up on a farm. The chance for obtaining an education in those days was poor in contrast with those of the present time, but he was naturally quick to learn, and obtained what was then considered a good education. Reading, writing and arithmet ic were the only branches then taught. Grammar and geography were unknown. At twenty-one he became an apprentice to the trade of a joiner and cabinet maker, at Circleville, Pickaway county, Ohio. After serving an apprenticeship of three years he worked at his trade two summers at Lancaster, Ohio. The business not agreeing with his health, he quit and went to teaching school. His first school was in the old school-house in which he received his first lessons in boyhood. He taught there for eleven successiv e terms. After his marriage he also taught three winters in addition. He was married in Fairfield county, Ohio,

Page 194

February 25th, 1838, to Sarah Dillsaver, who was born in Fairfield county, on the 30th of December, 1817. Her father, Henry Dillsaver, and her mother, Susan Neff, were from Pennsylvania, and were among the pioneer settlers of Fairfield county.

He determined to emigrate to a western state where he could find cheap land and secure a home. Times were hard in Ohio, and the prospects for a poor man were not very promising. He left Ohio in the fall of 1841, and on the 14th of October landed in what i s now Moultrie county, then included in Shelby county. He entered eighty acres of land on the west Okaw, in section 25 of township 13, range 4. He put up a cabin on this tract and went to work in the timber to make an improvement. With the exception of tw o years, from 1876 to 1878, when he lived in Sullivan, he has resided there ever since. He bought additional land, and now owns 280 acres, in sections 19, 24 25 and 30, of township 13, range 5. He carries on general farming, and has one of the most produc tive and reliable farms in Moultrie county Mr. and Mrs. Vanhise are the parents of three children; Cordelia, now the wife of Alexander Ward, of Shelby county; John Wesley Vanhise, who is engaged in farming in Moultrie county; and Martha, who married Simon T. Gallagher, of Shelby county. In his politics Mr. Vanhise was first an old line Whig. He voted for Harrison, in 1840. His views on the slavery question made him a Republican on the foundation of that party, and he has been a Republican ever since. He h as been elected to several township offices, some of which he has held for several years in succession. He possesses good business ability, and what he has accomplished the result of his own industry and energy. A picture of his farm residence appears els ewhere.


WAS born in Wilson county, Tennessee, October 2, 1820. His father, Ezekiel A. Sharp, was a native of North Carolina. The family is of Irish descent. E. A. Sharp was a child of three years of age when his father, Ezekiel A. Sharp, Sr., emigrated t o Tennessee. This family came to Tennessee when it was a wilderness thinly settled, and endured all the hardships and privations incident to a pioneer life in that state. It was here where E. A. Sharp, Jr., was brought up; upon arriving at the age of matu rity he married Jane Lansden, of Wilson county, Tennessee; they had six children born to them. In 1834, Mr. Sharp with his family emigrated to Illinois, and settled in what is now Marrowbone township of this county. He had the misfortune to lose his wife the following year; he resided in the vicinity where he first settled, and followed the life of a farmer until his death in the year 1846. The subject of our sketch was fourteen years of age when his father came to this state; his advantages for receiving an education were very limited, as he never attended school after coming to this state. At the age of twenty he was united in marriage to Miss Milbra Thomason, a daughter of Richard Thomason, one of the early settlers of Fayette county, Illinois. They ha ve raised a family of ten children, eight now living; their names are as follows: Elizabeth J., now deceased, who was the wife of John W. Kirkbride; Sarah C., now the widow of Alexander Norris; Mary F., now the wife of William Rhodes; Joseph A.; Martha A. , now the wife of Z. T. McMahan; James H., now deceased; Amazetto and Walter C. Immediately after Mr. Sharp's marriage in 1841, he came to where he now lives in Sullivan township and purchased forty acres of raw prarie land; he began improving this tract, and by adding forty after forty he now owns one hundred and sixty acres. Mr. and Mrs. Sharp started out in life unaided, and by industry and economy they have gained a pleasant home, a view of which may be seen elsewhere in this work. In the early settle ment of the county, Mr. Sharp rode as constable for six years, and at that time traveled to all parts of the county, and in consequence became acquainted with nearly every resident of the county. In politics he has been a life long democrat, and has alway s taken a deep interest in the success of the party. Such is a brief sketch of one of the old and much respected citizens of Moultrie county.


WAS born in Trumbull county, Ohio, on the 8th of June, 1839; his father, Orren H. Dunscomb, was a native of Vermont, and emigrated to Ohio, in the year 1803, settling at Weathersfield, in Trumbull county; he was one of the early pioneers of Ohio; h e married Sophia H. Gray, a native of Trumbull county. Mr. Dunscomb was the fourth of a family of six children; he was raised in his native county, and obtained a good education in the common schools; his mother died in 1851 and his father in 1855. In the latter year, then seventeen years old, he came to Illinois. For a year or two he was employed by the month in Moultrie county, and in 1857 began teaching, school in Lovington township. In 1859 he went to Texas, and was a resident of that State at the tim e of the breaking out of the rebellion. Against his wishes he was obliged to enter the confederate army; he served with a regiment on the frontier, where there were few chances of getting away, but in March, 1863, succeeded in reaching Mexico, where he re mained till after the close of the war, July, 1865; he returned to Moultrie county and resumed teaching, in which he was engaged every winter till 1873, when he was elected treasurer of Moultrie county on the independent farmers' ticket; he was re-elected in 1875. After closing up the business of the treasurer's office in 1877 he became Treasurer and Agent of the Moultrie County Co-operative Association, and took charge of its store at Sullivan, which he has since successfully managed. September 22d, 1867 , he married Jane E., daughter of Samuel and Eliza Mitchell; he has six children by this marriage. His father was one of the early members of the free-soil party, and he himself is a republican. For two years he has been chairman of the republican county central committee; he was elected justice of the peace in 1872, and served till his election as county treasurer. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. Besides the co-operative store at Sullivan, he carries on a store of his own at Cushman sta tion.


THIS gentleman, one of the well-known business men of Sullivan, was born in Jersey county, Illinois, on the 31st of October, 1839. His grandfather, John D. Gillham, emigrated from North Carolina to Illinois in the year 1812, and settled in Madison county. Allen Gillham, father of the subject of this sketch, was born in Madison county on the 17th of May, 1816. He married Nancy Murphy, who was originally descended from an Irish family, though she possessed more English than Irish blood in her veins. She was born in Virginia, and came to this state when a small girl. Her father was one of the early settlers of Madison county. Mr. Gillham's father and grandfather settled about 1838, on what is still known as Gillham's mound, in the southern part of Jer sey county. A large family of Gillhams is still living in that part of the state. His father died near Sullivan in 1876, and his mother is still living.

Page 195

Mr. Gillham was in his sixteenth year when the family moved to Moultrie county, in the spring of 1855, and settled on a farm two miles north west of Sullivan. He attended school in Jersey county, and afterward in Sullivan till he was nineteen years of age , and then became a student in the Mt. Zion Academy, in Macon county, then under the charge of Prof. A. J. McGlumphy. He attended this institution three years, and then left school to enter the army, the war of the rebellion then being in progress. In Aug ust, 1862, he enlisted as a private in Co. C, of the one hundred and twenty-sixth Illinois regiment. The regiment was mustered in at Camp Terry, Mattoon; from there proceeded to Alton, and then by boat down the Mississippi. Col. Jonathan Richmond commande d the regiment. The engagement at the capture of Humboldt, Tennessee, was the first serious test of the mettle of the regiment. After that came the fight at La Grange, and then for three weeks the regiment was under fire at the siege of Vicksburg; took pa rt afterward in several minor engagements, and then participated in the capture of Little Rock. At Jackson, Tennessee, he was made commissary sergeant and placed on duty in the commissary department of the regiment. At Duvall's Bluff, Arkansas, he was tra nsferred by special order for duty as chief clerk at Gen. Kimball's headquarters, at Little Rock. Gen. Kimball occupied the governor's residence as headquarters, and while there Mr. Gillham had a pleasant position, but he was called back to the regiment b y a promotion as first lieutenant, and served in that capacity till the close of the war. At Pine Bluff he was placed on detached service, and with a hundred men under his command, had charge of a battery. He was discharged at Pine Bluff, and mustered out at Camp Butler, Springfield, in August, 1865.

He returned to Moultrie county, and on the 26th of September, 1865, married Belle Pugh, daughter of Gen. I. C. Pugh, who served as a captain in the Black Hawk war, entered the war of the rebellion, was promoted from captain to colonel of the forty-first I llinois regiment, and then to Brigadier General. He served most of the time with Sherman. He died at Decatur in 1874. Mrs. Gillham was born in Macon county. After engaging in farming he entered the store of C. L. Roane, at Sullivan. For a year he carried on the mercantile business with Ebon T. Cox, and was afterward in partnership with Seymour Brightman. In 1870 he erected his present buildings and began the livery and stock business, in which, with the exception of three years, during which he was farmi ng, he has since been engaged. The people of Moultrie County as a businessman favorably know him. He has one child. He has always been a Republican in politics, casting his first presidential vote for Lincoln, in 1860. He began life with no resources exce pt his own energy, and now stands well among the progressive business men of Moultrie county.


THIS gentleman, one of the leading farmers of Sullivan township, was born in Shelby county, three miles and a half east of Shelbyville, on the eleventh of September, 1833. The Vaughan family is of German descent. His grandfather was a resident of V irginia, and his father, James W. Vaughan, was born in that state in the year 1805. The latter, in the year 1814, when only nine years of age, accompanied his mother and the rest of the family (his father having died in Virginia) to Rutherford county, Ten n. After living fourteen years in that state they came to Illinois, settling in Shelby county in 1829. James W. Vaughan was a blacksmith and gunsmith by trade, and carried on that occupation at Shelbyville. He also for a short time kept a hotel. When he l ocated at Shelbyville the place contained only a few houses. He afterward moved east of the town, and it was there that the birth of the subject of this sketch occurred. The first eight years of his life were spent in the same neighborhood, which was new and comparatively unsettled. In 1842 his father moved with the family to Whitley creek, along which settlements had been made a few years previous, This location is in the present limits of Moultrie county, but was then still in Shelby.

Mr. Vaughan had attended school about nine months east of Shelbyville and afterward went to school as he had opportunity on Whitley creek. The boys of that period had poor educational advantages. The schools were held at irregular intervals in the winter season in log schoolhouse. His father was a man who believed in raising his children to habits of industry, and they carried on the farm while their father worked at his trade. The family moved to Sullivan in December, 1849; Mr. Vaughan was then sixteen. For his education, he is principally indebted to the school facilities he enjoyed after coming to Sullivan. The spring after he was twenty-one he secured a school in Lovington township and taught one term. His marriage occurred on the first of March, 185 5, to Beulah A. Rhodes, daughter of Silas P. Rhodes and Nancy Pugh. Her grandfather was Thomas Pugh. The Pugh family were among the early pioneer settlers of Shelby county, and Mrs. Vaughan's uncles are among the oldest citizens now residing in that count y. After his marriage, Mr. Vaughan went to farming on section three of township thirteen, range five, a short distance N. W. of Sullivan, where he has been living ever since, He began with one hundred and sixty acres of land. He has been among the enterpr ising and progressive farmers of Moultrie county, and his farm now consists of between five and six hundred acres. His buildings and farm improvements are of a substantial character, and they appear in an illustration on another page. He has been engaged in general farming and stock-raising. The death of his wife took place on the thirtieth of December, 1880. For over twenty-five years she had been his faithful and devoted companion, and her death was lamented by a large circle of her friends and acquaint ances outside of her immediate family. She had been in ill-health for two or three years previous to her death, and died of consumption. For twenty-four years she had been a consistent member of the Baptist Church, and in her private walk and conversation adorned her profession of Christianity. She was benevolent and charitable in her disposition, kind in her domestic relations, an affectionate wife and a devoted mother. She had many admirable traits of character, and to her ready assistance is owing much of her husband's success in life. She left a memory fragrant with good deeds. Of the eleven children of Mr. and Mrs. Vaughan only three are now living: Arthur L. Vaughan, Olivia C., wife of S. W. Corley, of Morton, Tazewell county, and Ida F. Vaughan.

His political opinions have always connected him with the democratic party. He has voted the democratic ticket from the year 1856, when he supported Buchanan for the presidency. During the war of the rebellion he served eighteen months (from August, 1862, to February, 1864,) in Co. C, of the One Hundred and Twenty-sixth Illinois Regiment. He held a commission as second lieutenant. He served in Tennessee, Mississippi and Arkansas. He was honorably discharged by order of the war department on account of di sability. He is a man in whom the community has had entire confidence, and he has filled several representative positions. He became a member of the board of supervisors in September, 1880, and since has been chairman of the board. As a farmer, he is acti ve and progressive, and has materially contributed to the advancement of the agricultural interests of Moultrie county. He has been

Page 196
an officer of the Moultrie County Agricultural Board from its organization under that name. For ten years he has been secretary, and in that capacity his efforts have been of no little service in securing the successful working of the society. He was one of the organizers of the Moultrie County Co-operative Association, of which from the beginning he has acted as secretary. Since the age of fifteen he has been connected with the Baptist Church. He is a member of Mt. Zion Church of that denomination in Col es county. He has been actively interested in Sunday-school matters, and has been identified with Sunday-school work in Moultrie county for many years. He has been connected with the Moultrie County Sunday-school Association, either as secretary, vice-pre sident or president, for the last ten years, and is now its president. His name fitly appears in these pages as one of the representative agriculturists of Moultrie county.


WHO for fourteen years has held the office of post-master at Sullivan, was born near Newark, Licking county, Ohio, September 14, 1843. His parents were natives of Virginia. His father's name was Jacob Miley. His mother, Susan Smith, belonged to a l ong-lived family, both her parents dying when past the age of eighty. The subject of this sketch was the youngest of seven children, and the only one of the three brothers now living. He was raised near Newark, Ohio. Obtaining his elementary education in the common schools, at the age of twenty he entered the Dennison University at Granville, Ohio. After having been engaged in different occupations in Ohio, Indiana and Pennsylvania, he came to Illinois in 1865, and located at Sullivan. For two winters he taught school in Moultrie county. In 1867, he took charge of the post-office at Sullivan, first acting as deputy and in January, 1868, receiving a commission as postmaster. He has since retained this position under the successive Republican administration s of Grant and Hayes. January 1, 1881, the Sullivan office was placed in the list of offices subject to Presidential appointment. He has made a competent and faithful official, and has discharged the duties of the office with promptness and regularity. Hi s marriage took place on the 1st of May, 1873, to Miss Lum Beveridge, of Highland county, Ohio. By this marriage he has two children. He has always been a Republican in politics. His first vote for President was cast for Abraham Lincoln, in 1864, and he h as been a member of the Republican party from that time to the present.


THE present efficient superintendent of schools of Moultrie county, was born in Genesee county, New York, in 1838. His father was a tiller of the soil and he also was trained a practical farmer. He received a liberal education at the rural district schools, and for a time attended Carey Collegiate Seminary. At the age of eighteen he taught school in Michigan, and one year later went to sea, where he served as a sailor for two years; he doubled Cape Horn twice, crossed the Equator four times, was in Alaska, Sandwich Islands, Chili, South Seas Islands, etc. After returning from sea he attended Hillsdale College, at Hillsdale, Michigan. At this place, in 1862, he married Miss Fannie M. Brockway, by which union there have been three children born, two of whom are living (boys) -- Allen T. and Charley. In 1863-4 he engaged in mercantile business for one year; afterwards attended school at Ann Arbor Law University for one term, in the winter of 1864-5; went to Pleasant Hill, Missouri, in the summer of 18 65, where he remained for two years. While there he engaged in the practice of law with his brother, Allen M., and owned and edited the Pleasant Hill Union. He came to Moultrie county late in 1866, and located in Sullivan, where he has continued to reside. During the first winter he taught school, and in the spring purchased a small farm, and for about two years followed farming, teaching during the winter. Was elected superintendent of schools in 1869, which position he held for a term of four yea rs. In 1874 he again embarked in the mercantile business, which he continued for about three years. He was re-elected superintendent of schools in the fall of 1877, and is the present incumbent. Under his vigorous administration the schools of Moultrie co unty are rapidly taking a prominent position with others in this state. As an educator Mr. Stearns belongs to the progressive school. He has eliminated all old and crude customs, and inaugurated a new system that is more conformity to the times and theori es of advanced thinkers upon school subjects. Politically, he is a democrat; in manners, a pleasant and agreeable gentleman, and of rather a retiring disposition. The number of his friends increase as he becomes better known.


DR. KELLAR, one of the oldest physicians of Moultrie county, is a native of Oldham county, Kentucky, and was born on the 16th of December, 1827. His birth-place was eighteen miles from Louisville. The Kellar family is of German descent, and became residents of Virginia at an early period. His grandfather, William Kellar, emigrated from Virginia to Tennessee shortly after the conclusion of the Revolutionary war. In the year 1795, he moved from Tennessee to Kentucky, settled in Oldham county and was one of the pioneers of that part of the state. Abraham H. Kellar, father of the subject of this sketch, was born in Tennessee in 1790, and was consequently five years of age, when the family moved to Kentucky. He was raised in Oldham county, and married N ancy J. Hitt, who was born in Fayette county, Kentucky, in the year 1793. Her family came to Kentucky from Virginia. Dr. Kellar was the youngest of a family of eight children, of whom six were sons and two daughters. In the fall of 1832, the family moved to Illinois and settled in what was then Macon, now Moultrie county, about one mile south of the present town of Lovington. In that vicinity Dr. Kellar spent his boyhood. After having obtained an elementary education in the common school, he left home at the age of nineteen and went to Kentucky, where for two years he was a student in Bacon college at Harrodsburg. Returning from Kentucky in the year 1847, he began the study of medicine at Sullivan with his brother, Dr. William Kellar, then the only physic ian in the town. Sullivan was, of course, at that time a place of few inhabitants and little business. During the winter of 1848-9, he attended a course of lectures in the Medical Department at the University of Louisville. He attended his second course o f lectures at the same college in the winter of 1850-51. He had commenced practice in 1849, in the neighborhood of Lovington. For about nine months after his graduation he was preaching as a Christian minister in Moultrie, Shelby and Macon counties.

In February, 1852, he became a resident of Decatur, where he practiced medicine for four years. April 14th, 1852, he married Jane E. Cantrill, daughter of William Cantrill one of the oldest residents of Decatur. In April, 1856, after his brother's death, he moved to Sullivan. From 1865 to April, 1875, he was engaged in practicing medicine at Shelbyville. He then returned to Sullivan, where he has

Page 197

since resided. He is now with one exception the oldest physician in practice in Moultrie county. He has five children: Charles H., Addie E., Edgar H., Lizzie M. and Pearl N. He has always been a sound and consistent Democrat in politics. His first vote fo r President was cast for Franklin Pierce in 1852. His time has been devoted to his profession, and he has never been ambitious to hold public office. In 1851, he was elected school commissioner of Moultrie county. In 1864, he was the democratic candidate for presidential elector in the seventh congressional district, in which Moultrie county was then included. Since the age of thirteen he has been connected with the Christian church, joining in 1840 the West Okaw church of that denomination, the next to t he oldest Christian church within the limits of the state of Illinois. In 1851, he was ordained a minister in the Sullivan Christian church, and from that time at occasional intervals, whenever not conflicting too much with his professional engagements, h e has filled the pulpits of different Christian churches of this part of the state, His reputation as a citizen and a physician is well known to the people of Moultrie county.


JAMES KIRKWOOD, a view of whose residence in Sullivan township appears on another page, is a native of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. His birth took place on the 6th of April, 1811. His father, William Kirkwood, was born in the north of Ireland in the year 1789. In 1797 the family emigrated to America. William Kirkwood was married in Pennsylvania, to Sophia Goshon, who was of German descent. The subject of this sketch was the third child by this marriage. In 1812, his father moved to Franklin coun ty, Pennsylvania. Mr. Kirkwood was raised in that part of the Cumberland valley near Chambersburg. He attended the district schools, but his experience with business matters has improved his education since reaching years of maturity. His father died when he was thirteen years old. After his father's death he earned his own living. On the 7th of January, 1834, he married Ann Jane I. Young, who was born in Ireland on the 12th of May, 1815. She came to America when she was nine years old. In the fall of 183 4, a few months after his marriage, he moved to Ohio, and settled at Hallsville in Ross county. At that time he had no means with which to buy land. He saved money, and in the spring of 1841 purchased, partly on credit, a farm on which he lived till he ca me to Illinois. He became a resident of Moultrie county in 1857, and in 1859, bought the piece on which he now lives, in section seventeen of township thirteen, range five. His farm consists of two hundred and fifty-five acres of land. He has had eight ch ildren: Jane, now the wife of John McCollister and a resident of Missouri; William Kirkwood, who is in the grain business at Sullivan; Moses Hiram, who is farming in Sullivan township; Sophia, who married George Dawson and now lives near Hallsville, Ross county, Ohio; James, who died in June, 1879; Eliza Ann, who died in Ohio at the age of six years; Mary Josephine, wife of John W. Woods; and George Wesley Kirkwood, who still lives with his father.

In his political views, Mr. Kirkwood is a democrat, and has voted the democratic ticket from 1832, when he supported Jackson for President, except in 1864, when he voted for Lincoln, thinking that he could thus best contribute to the suppression of the re bellion. He possesses liberal views on political subjects, and frequently votes for the best man for office regardless of politics. He became connected with the United Brethren Church, in Sullivan township, in 1858, shortly after the organization of the c hurch. He is one of the trustees of Pleasant Grove church, of which he is a member. He has been a useful member of the community. During his life he has been a resident of three states -- Pennsylvania, Ohio, and Illinois -- and in all of them has endeavor ed to honestly discharge his duties as a neighbor and a citizen. Though he has now reached the age of three-score years and ten, he is still vigorous in mind, and can look back with satisfaction over a well-spent life


C.C. CLARK, who has been practicing law at Sullivan since 1870, was born in Geauga county, Ohio, August 15, 1845. His father, J. M. P. Clark, was a native of Vermont, and his mother, Charlotte Brainard, of 0hio. Mr.Clark was raised in Geauga county , where he obtained his elementary education. In 1868, he came to Mattoon and began reading law with his brothers, H. S. Clark, now member of the State Senate from the thirty-second senatorial district, and A. B. Clark, now residing in Kansas. He attended the Ohio Union and State Law College at Cleveland, from which he graduated in the summer of 1869, and the following September was admitted to the bar in Ohio. In 1870, he came to Sullivan and became associated with John R. Eden and J. Meeker in the pract ice of law, under the firm name of Eden, Meeker & Clark. Since 1872, the firm has been composed of Mr. Eden and Mr. Clark. He was married on the 9th of December, 1872, to Frankie A. Rowe, of Newark, Ohio. From 1872 to 1880, he held the office of prosecuti ng attorney. He is a democrat. He has devoted his attention closely to the legal profession, and occupies a leading position among the members of the Moultrie county bar.

Page 198

|| Return to Main Site Index ||